Montevideo Maru Association

Posted on April 7, 2011 by


I have been in contact with Arthur Lane for many years, this wonderful man has always encouraged me with my project – discovering the Truth of what happened on the islands of New Britain, New Ireland, New Hanover and the Surrounding Islands in the Mandated Territory of New Guinea during the Japanese occupation 1942 to 1945, and of the Montevideo Maru.  He has assisted me in many ways. 

Arthur is a very kind, caring and understanding person.  I know for a fact that as a POW he gave a young American Serviceman advice which saved his life.  I discovered through my American friends that this young man returned home and lived for many many years.

Thank you for caring,

Sincerely, Cynthia   

Ms. Cynthia Schmidt

Researcher

Montevideo Maru Association INC

www.montevideomaru.org

info@montevideomaru.org 

