NEW POEM – The Feelings of a British Soldier

Posted on September 27, 2011 by


The Feelings of a British Soldier

By William McCann

 

Who puts their life on the line for a pathetic wage?
Who deals with stress in a strange way?
Who will see what you wouldn’t even imagine?
Who will do what is asked of them?
Who is that person fighting for your right to be free?
… I will tell you that person is me
I went into a job to be proud and brave
I have seen my friends laid down in a grave
I have been to places that would break the hardest man
you know I’m on about IRAQ and AFGHAN
I am the soldier in the best regiment you see
I am the soldier in this poem and the soldier is me
I will never forget my fallen comrades
because they will always be one of the lads
I am now a civvy but not my fault
my army career came to a sudden HALT
But my brother is still fighting a stupid battle
and my friends are risking their life for you
This is where the poem ends and please take a moment to see
when a soldier is off or angry think of what he has been through
Show some respect and don’t take it thick when that squaddy is acting a prick
And to all the wives of soldiers here and lost
I send my full respect to you and your soldier
And as for the best regiment in the British army
It has to be;
The 22nd Cheshire Regiment when I was in – now known as 1 Mercian.
To all my brothers I apologise I can’t be with you, but I am always thinking of you.

Believe it or not, this was written by,
 

25071796

PTE MCCANN (MAD MACCA MCCANN) OF THE

22ND CHESHIRE REGIMENT  15/03/2004 TO 14/03/2008

 REST IN PEACE TO THE FALLEN FEW – YOU ARE GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN

 

Posted in: GENERAL NOTICES