APPEAL FOR HELP IN PURCHASING HISTORICAL PHOTO ALBUM

Posted on August 19, 2013 by


APPEAL FOR HELP IN PURCHASING HISTORICAL PHOTO ALBUM

I recently came across a photo album for sale on e bay.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/300945877126?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

 

It is an album put together by Captain Tony Cater of the 2nd Battalion East Surrey regiment between 1937 and 1946.

It is a unique pictorial insight into that bleak period in the Far East with a Regiment who were decimated in the Malaya Campaign and later in the Japanese POW camps.

Some of the photographs are priceless and never been seen before especially the one of the final surrender by General Percival, taken from a unique angle.

I have a very personal interest in this album as know my father was with Captain Cater in the East Surreys and I think he may be in one of the shots.

I feel that this album should not be in private hands, unless in the hands of Captain Cater’s family.

The IWM, Surrey History centre and the East Surrey Museum all say they don’t purchase things like but welcome donations.

I would like to try and raise the cash to buy the Album and then donate it to a Museum.

We don’t have  a lot of time as it may go to a private buyer.

If anybody can help me do this please contact

enquiries@nesa.org.uk

Look forward to hearing from you.

Cec Lowry

 

